TALK SHOW, 2017

TALK SHOW is a performative conference that lets you hear and see the transformed, stopped, reinvented journeys of circus artists. What is the reality of a life of circus? On the set, disappointments, euphoria, frustrations, confessions and opinions are expressed without any taboo, and with lightness. The idea is to make the voice of these artists public. As our lives are made of a succession of failures and successes, circus is here the ideal vector to address questions related to age, obsolescence, evolution, and therefore the success of a turning point in life. The vulnerability of the being and its sincerity take precedence over the physical performance. The magic of prowess gives way to the anti-magic reality of the human condition.

The challenge in this performance lies in the ability to be true, to say everything that one thinks, straightforward, but always with the aim of stimulating a collective thinking. At a time where success is a collective obsession and where recognition at all costs is being glorified, I’d like to show mature artists’ bodies and question their value and richness of meaning. (Gaël Santisteva)

TALK SHOW was created on October 19th, 2017 at Les Halles de Schaerbeek (Brussels) and CIRCa festival (Auch, FR) before touring in Belgium and France.

Gaël is currently preparing his second project, Garcimore est mort, that will premiere on November 10th, 2021 at Le Manège de Reims (FR).

TALK SHOW - Gaël Santisteva (90’, 2017)

Performance: Gaël Santisteva with four of the following artists - Julien Fournier, Angéla Laurier, Marlène Rubinelli, Ali Thabet, Mélissa Von Vépy, Jani Nuutinen, Julien Cassier, Caroline Obin, Olle Strandberg

Music: Sam Serruys

Sounds: Antoine Delagoutte

Artistic advice: Lara Barsacq

Production: Gilbert & Stock

Coproduction: Les Halles de Schaerbeek – Bruxelles, La Verrerie d’Alès / Pôle National Cirque Occitanie, La maison de la culture de Tournai, Centre culturel du Brabant Wallon

Residency: CIRCa pôle national des arts du cirque-Auch, Cie Happés

With the support of Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, service du cirque, des arts forains et de la rue

photos © Beniamin Boar, Lara Barsacq

A rare, sensitive work that allows you to grasp the distances and the depths of a voice, the one of the circus artist, added with some fiction and the strange feeling of being immersed in reality. [Talk Show] is all at once: dance, circus, document, marvellous in its sharp humour and the reversals that it implies.
Sylvia Botella, Conférence inaugurale / ESAC, 20.04.2018

While dreaming of his real-fake conference titled “Talk Show”, [Gaël Santisteva] wanted to make a show with almost no circus act, but which would reveal what’s behind the scenes of a professional life. [ ] The result is great! [ ] Like a catalyst, it reveals (very) closely the scathing personalities of an outstanding quartet. [ ] In a stage-hall exchange integrated in the show or in many overwhelming moments, the love of circus strikes you the most, as well as an ultimately universal questioning about our human time, so human.
Laurent Ancion, Cirq en Capitale, #14, January 2018

This artistic UFO - a true and unpolished exposure - has the brilliance of sincerity, the prettiness of the passage of time, the one that makes people more beautiful and more real. It shows what makes us be in the world through the uniqueness of each story. Unique and universal at the same time. What a feat!
Un bouquin dans la poche, 12.12.2017

"Talk Show": when the magic of the prowess gives way to the more discreet charm of the confession. Neither entirely a conference nor really a show, “Talk Show” has become a spectacular conference. A very free moment of speech in which the vulnerability of the being and its sincerity take precedence over physical performance.
Catherine Makereel, Le Soir, 19.10.2017

Gaël Santisteva questions the body of circus artists, confronted with the harshness of their practice and the passage of time. A circus of words too, which challenges.
Isabelle Plumhans, L’Echo, 17.10.2017

When limited to the single performance, circus is an art form that is limited in time, such as high performance sports. We must dare to put aging bodies on stage. Why should we evacuate the "old"? Their bodies release more questions, gain in depth and express a lot of things. I want to open a breach in the performative aspect of circus, to show that there is brilliance beyond the prowess. (Gaël Santisteva)
Laurent Ancion, Cirq en Capitale, #13, October 2017

Past

14.10.2020, Toulouse (FR)

Théâtre Sorano

13.10.2020, Toulouse (FR)

Théâtre Sorano

25.01.2020, Bègles (FR)

Festival Un chapiteau en hiver

16.01.2020, Gent (BE)

Festival Smells Like Circus, Vooruit / Campo

16.03.2019, Tournai (BE)

Festival La Piste aux Espoirs

23.01.2019, Chambéry (FR)

Théâtre Charles Dullin

22.01.2019, Chambéry (FR)

Théâtre Charles Dullin

08.11.2018, Angers (FR)

Le Quai

07.11.2018, Angers (FR)

Le Quai

06.11.2018, Saint-Herblain (FR)

La Carrière

31.10.2018, Nîmes (FR)

Le Périscope

23.09.2018, Aix-en-Provence (FR)

Festival Jours [et nuits] de cirque(s)

20.04.2018, Bruxelles (BE)

Ecole Supérieure des Arts du Cirque

11.04.2018, Bruxelles (BE)

Festival Hopla, Maison de la Création

24.10.2017, Auch (FR)

Festival CIRCA

23.10.2017, Auch (FR)

Festival CIRCA

20.10.2017, Bruxelles (BE)

Halles de Schaerbeek

19.10.2017, Bruxelles (BE)

Halles de Schaerbeek - PREMIERE

TALK SHOW, 2017

TALK SHOW est une conférence performative qui donne à entendre et à voir le parcours d’artistes de cirque au chemin transformé, stoppé, réinventé. Comment rendre compte de la réalité d’une vie avec le cirque ? Sur le plateau, les déceptions, euphories, frustrations, confessions et opinions s’expriment sans tabou, avec légèreté. Il s’agit de rendre publique la parole de ces artistes. La vie étant faite d’une succession de ratés et de réussites, le cirque se trouve ici le vecteur idéal pour aborder ces questions liées à l’âge, à l’obsolescence, à l’évolution, et par conséquent à la réussite d’un tournant de vie. La vulnérabilité de l’être et sa sincérité prennent le pas sur sa performance physique. La magie de l’exploit fait place ici à la réalité anti-magique de la condition humaine.

Le défi à relever dans cette performance se trouve dans la capacité à être vrai, à dire tout ce que l’on pense, sans détour, mais toujours avec le but de stimuler la réflexion collective. Donner à voir des corps d’artistes en pleine maturescence et questionner la valeur et la richesse de sens qu’on peut leur accorder, à l’heure du succès comme obsession collective et de la glorification de la reconnaissance à tout prix. (Gaël Santisteva)

TALK SHOW a été créé le 19 octobre 2017 aux Halles de Schaerbeek (Bruxelles) et au festival CIRCa (Auch, FR) avant de tourner en Belgique et en France.

Gaël prépare actuellement sont deuxième projet - Garcimore est mort - dont la première est prévue le 18 novembre 2021 au Manège de Reims (FR).

TALK SHOW - Gaël Santisteva (90’, 2017)

Interprétation : Gaël Santisteva avec quatre des artistes suivants - Julien Fournier, Angéla Laurier, Marlène Rubinelli, Ali Thabet, Mélissa Von Vépy, Jani Nuutinen, Julien Cassier, Caroline Obin, Olle Strandberg

Générique : Sam Serruys

Ingénieur du son : Antoine Delagoutte

Conseils artistiques : Lara Barsacq

Production : Gilbert & Stock

Coproduction : Les Halles de Schaerbeek – Bruxelles, La Verrerie d’Alès / Pôle National Cirque Occitanie, La maison de la culture de Tournai, Centre culturel du Brabant Wallon

Résidences : CIRCa pôle national des arts du cirque-Auch, Cie Happés

Avec le soutien de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, service du cirque, des arts forains et de la rue

photos © Beniamin Boar, Lara Barsacq

Une oeuvre rare, sensible qui permet de saisir les distances, d'appréhender les profondeurs d'une parole, celle de l'artiste circassien, avec un surplus de fiction et le sentiment étrange d'être immergé dans le réel. Une pièce tout à la fois - ! -, danse, cirque, document, merveilleux aux détours d'un humour tranchant et des renversements qu'il implique.
Sylvia Botella, Conférence inaugurale / ESAC, 20.04.2018

En rêvant sa vraie-fausse conférence titrée “Talk Show”, [Gaël Santisteva] a voulu un spectacle quasiment sans acte de cirque, qui œuvre à dévoiler tout ce qui forme l’envers du décor d’une vie professionnelle. [ ] Le résultat est génial. [ ] A la façon d’un catalyseur, il dévoile de (très) près les cinglantes personnalités d’un quatuor hors pair. [ ] Dans un échange scène-salle intégré au spectacle ou dans une myriade d’instants bouleversants, c’est bien sûr l’amour du cirque qui saute aux yeux, de même qu’une interrogation finalement universelle sur notre temps humain, si humain.
Laurent Ancion, Cirq en Capitale, #14, janvier 2018

Cet ovni artistique - véritable mise à nu sans fard - a l’éclat de la sincérité, la joliesse du temps qui passe, celui qui rend les gens plus beaux et plus vrais. Il donne à voir ce qui nous fait être au monde à travers l’unicité de chaque histoire. Unique et universel à la fois. Quelle prouesse !
Un bouquin dans la poche, 12.12.2017

“Talk Show” : quand la magie de l’exploit laisse place au charme plus discret de la confession. Ni entièrement une conférence ni vraiment un spectacle, “Talk Show” est devenu une conférence spectaculaire. Un moment de parole très libre où la vulnérabilité de l’être et sa sincérité prendraient le pas sur la performance physique.
Catherine Makereel, Le Soir, 19.10.2017

Gaël Santisteva interroge le corps des artistes de cirque, confronté à la rudesse de la pratique et au temps qui passe. Un cirque de mots aussi, qui interpelle.
Isabelle Plumhans, L’Echo, 17.10.2017

Soumis au seul exploit, le cirque est un art limité dans le temps, comme un sport de haut niveau. Il faut oser mettre des corps vieillissants sur scène. Pourquoi évacuerait-on les ‘vieux’ ? Leurs corps dégagent plus de questions, gagnent en profondeur et nous parlent de plein de choses. J’ai envie d’ouvrir une brèche dans l’aspect performatif du cirque, montrer qu’il y a une brillance en dehors de l’exploit. (Gaël Santisteva)
Propos recueillis par Laurent Ancion, Cirq en Capitale, #13, octobre 2017

Past

14.10.2020, Toulouse (FR)

Théâtre Sorano

13.10.2020, Toulouse (FR)

Théâtre Sorano

25.01.2020, Bègles (FR)

Festival Un chapiteau en hiver

16.01.2020, Gent (BE)

Festival Smells Like Circus, Vooruit / Campo

16.03.2019, Tournai (BE)

Festival La Piste aux Espoirs

23.01.2019, Chambéry (FR)

Théâtre Charles Dullin

22.01.2019, Chambéry (FR)

Théâtre Charles Dullin

08.11.2018, Angers (FR)

Le Quai

07.11.2018, Angers (FR)

Le Quai

06.11.2018, Saint-Herblain (FR)

La Carrière

31.10.2018, Nîmes (FR)

Le Périscope

23.09.2018, Aix-en-Provence (FR)

Festival Jours [et nuits] de cirque(s)

20.04.2018, Bruxelles (BE)

Ecole Supérieure des Arts du Cirque

11.04.2018, Bruxelles (BE)

Festival Hopla, Maison de la Création

24.10.2017, Auch (FR)

Festival CIRCA

23.10.2017, Auch (FR)

Festival CIRCA

20.10.2017, Bruxelles (BE)

Halles de Schaerbeek

19.10.2017, Bruxelles (BE)

Halles de Schaerbeek - PREMIERE