Garcimore est mort, 2021

Struggling with a chaotic scenic device in perpetual deceleration, playing with the codes of entertainment (a scenic installation consisting of an automated circular curtain and sounds), three (or four) performers make their way towards their own emancipation and celebrate the simplicity of the imperceptible glitter of existence. While passing through hand tricks, pop songs, a tap dance solo, physical prowess or dance, they share their thoughts on the power of beliefs and manipulation and try to deploy an ode to decay in dissonance to the complex, over-informed, ultra-fast, profuse, capitalist and demanding world in which we operate.

In my previous production - TALK SHOW (2017) -, I approached a naturalistic way of being on stage, a way of playing without playing, in any case without embodying more than the reality of the facts and emotions that flow from it. With Garcimore est mort, this performative state of mind close to the truth will be contrasted by the use of identifiable devices comparable to the codes of entertainment (applause, drum rolls, laughs...). Deeply interested in questioning these codes, I would like to use them for counter-employment, creating a performance that is deliberately off-kilter and far from the usual ploys of the spectacular. (Gaël Santisteva)

Garcimore est mort premiered on November 18, 2021 at Le Manège de Reims (FR), in the frame of festival Born to be a live.

Garcimore est mort - A project by Gaël Santisteva (80', 2021)

Performance: Ondine Cloez, Jani Nuutinen, Gaël Santisteva + 1 surprise guest, alternating: Sophia Rodriguez, Micha Goldberg

Artistic advices: Lara Barsacq

Sound and musical creation: Lieven Dousselaere

Light design: Vic Grevendonk

Costumes design: Sofie Durnez

Stage design: Jérôme Dupraz, Sofie Durnez, Gaël Santisteva

Administration & production: Myriam Chekhemani

Communication & distribution: Quentin Legrand - Rue Branly

Production: Gilbert & Stock

Coproduction: Le Manège - scène nationale-Reims, Malraux - scène nationale Chambéry Savoie, Le Théâtre d’Arles, Théâtre de Choisy-le-Roi, scène conventionnée d'intérêt national - Art et création pour la diversité linguistique, Les SUBS, CIRCa pôle National Cirque - Auch (FR), Charleroi danse, Espace Catastrophe - Centre International de Création des Arts du Cirque (BE)

Residencies: Charleroi danse, Espace Catastrophe - Centre International de Création des Arts du Cirque, Centre Culturel Jacques Franck, Kunstenwerkplaats, Latitude 50, Arts Center Buda, Wolubilis - Pôle culturel de Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, Maison de la création (BE), CIRCa pôle national des arts du cirque-Auch, Les SUBS, Théâtre Cinéma de Choisy-le-Roi, Département des Bouches-du-Rhône – Centre départemental de créations en résidence (FR)

With the support of Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Wallonie-Bruxelles International, Sabam for Culture and SACD

photos © Stanislav Dobak

At the edge of performance, dance and circus, Gaël Santisteva signs with Garcimore est mort a hybrid piece whose comicalism mixed with depth gently addresses important and unfathomable questions. [...] Wigs and sequins, skates and slippers, automated curtains and tap dancing, songs and prowess, hypnosis and confidences: Garcimore est mort turns three little magic tricks into the material of a derisory that lasts. A crunchy treat whose flavor you won't soon forget.
Marie Baudet, La Libre Belgique, 19.03.2022

Pursuing his enterprise of deconstruction of the spectacular, [Gaël Santisteva] puts himself on stage with three performers in a piece which, in its very dramaturgy, tends towards sobriety, slowing down. Collective writing on the set, improvisations on the wire, pop and absurd aesthetics are the building blocks of a "meta-performance" that plays with itself. Gaël Santisteva signs here a eulogy of the useless, of doubt as a way and of fun as a remedy.
Interview with Mélanie Jouen, Ma Culture, 07.03.2022

Upcoming

18.10.2022, Bruxelles (BE)

Atelier 210

19.10.2022, Bruxelles (BE)

Atelier 210

20.10.2022, Bruxelles (BE)

Atelier 210

21.10.2022, Bruxelles (BE)

Atelier 210

22.10.2022, Bruxelles (BE)

Atelier 210

28.10.2022, Auch (FR)

Festival CIRCa

29.10.2022, Auch (FR)

Festival CIRCa

12.11.2022, Bruxelles (BE)

Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

13.11.2022, Bruxelles (BE)

Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

25.11.2022, Charleroi (BE)

Charleroi danse - Les Ecuries

08.02.2023, Arles (FR)

Le Théâtre d'Arles

18.03.2023, Namur (BE)

Le Delta

Past

18.03.2022, Bruxelles (BE)

Festival Up! - Espace Catastrophe, La Raffinerie

17.03.2022, Bruxelles (BE)

Festival Up! - Espace Catastrophe, La Raffinerie

09.02.2022, Chambéry (FR)

Malraux – Scène nationale Chambéry Savoie

08.02.2022, Chambéry (FR)

Malraux – Scène nationale Chambéry Savoie

04.02.2022, Lyon (FR)

Les SUBS

03.02.2022, Lyon (FR)

Les SUBS

28.01.2022, Choisy-le-Roi (FR)

Théâtre Cinéma de Choisy-le-Roi

26.01.2022, Paris (FR)

Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles

25.01.2022, Paris (FR)

Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles

18.11.2021, Reims (FR)

Festival Born to be a live - Le Manège, scène nationale - PREMIERE

Garcimore est mort, 2021

Aux prises d’un dispositif scénique chaotique en perpétuelle décélération se jouant des codes du divertissement (une installation scénique composée d'un rideau circulaire automatisé et de sons), trois (ou quatre) performeurs se fraient un chemin vers leur propre émancipation et célèbrent la simplicité des paillettes imperceptibles de l’existence. Tout en traversant des tours de passe-passe, des chansons pop, un solo de claquettes, des prouesses physiques ou une danse, ils partagent leurs réflexions sur le pouvoir des croyances et de la manipulation et tentent de déployer une ode à la décroissance en dissonance au monde complexe, sur-informé, ultra-rapide, profus, capitaliste et exigeant dans lequel nous évoluons.

Ce que j’avais abordé et touché du doigt dans mon précédent spectacle - TALK SHOW (2017) - était cette manière naturaliste d’être sur scène, cette façon de jouer sans jouer, en tous cas sans incarner plus que la réalité des faits et des émotions qui en découlent. Avec Garcimore est mort, cet état d’esprit performatif proche de la vérité se verra contrasté par l’utilisation d’artifices identifiables et assimilables aux codes de la représentation spectaculaire (applaudissements, roulements de tambours, rires…). Profondément intéressé par le questionnement de ces codes, j’aimerais les utiliser à contre-emploi, créant une performance volontairement décalée et éloignée des stratagèmes habituels du merveilleux spectaculaire. J'espère pouvoir fabriquer un objet performatif et questionnant tout en restant divertissant et accessible, le tout agrémenté d'un peu de magie et de chansons pop. (Gaël Santisteva)

La première de Garcimore est mort aura lieu le 18 novembre 2021 au Manège - scène nationale de Reims, dans le cadre du festival Born to be a live.

Garcimore est mort - Gaël Santisteva (création 2021)

Interprétation : Ondine Cloez, Jani Nuutinen, Gaël Santisteva + 1 invité.e surprise en alternance : Sophia Rodriguez, Micha Goldberg

Création sonore et musicale : Lieven Dousselaere

Création des costumes : Sofie Durnez

Création de la scénographie : Jérôme Dupraz, Sofie Durnez, Gaël Santisteva

Création des lumières : Vic Grevendonk

Conseils artistiques : Lara Barsacq

Production : Gilbert & Stock

Coproduction (en cours) : Le Manège - scène nationale-Reims, Malraux - scène nationale Chambéry Savoie, Le Théâtre d’Arles, Théâtre Cinéma de Choisy-le-Roi, Les SUBS, CIRCa pôle National Cirque - Auch (FR), Charleroi danse, Espace Catastrophe - Centre International de Création des Arts du Cirque (BE)

Résidences : Charleroi danse, Espace Catastrophe - Centre International de Création des Arts du Cirque, Centre Culturel Jacques Franck, Kunstenwerkplaats, Latitude 50, Arts Center Buda, Wolubilis - Pôle culturel de Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, Maison de la création (BE), CIRCa pôle national des arts du cirque-Auch, Les SUBS, Théâtre Cinéma de Choisy-le-Roi, Département des Bouches-du-Rhône – Centre départemental de créations en résidence (FR)

Avec le soutien de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Wallonie-Bruxelles International et de la SACD

photos © Lara Barsacq, Gaël Santisteva

Upcoming

18.11.2021, Reims (FR)

Festival Born to be a live - Le Manège, scène nationale - PREMIERE

25.01.2022, Paris (FR)

Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles

26.01.2022, Paris (FR)

Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles

28.01.2022, Choisy-le-Roi (FR)

Théâtre Cinéma de Choisy-le-Roi

03.02.2022, Lyon (FR)

Les SUBS - option

04.02.2022, Lyon (FR)

Les SUBS - option

08.02.2022, Chambéry (FR)

Malraux – Scène nationale Chambéry Savoie

09.02.2022, Chambéry (FR)

Malraux – Scène nationale Chambéry Savoie

17.03.2022, Bruxelles (BE)

Festival Up! - Espace Catastrophe, La Raffinerie

18.03.2022, Bruxelles (BE)

Festival Up! - Espace Catastrophe, La Raffinerie

15.09.2022, Bruxelles (BE)

Atelier 210 - exact dates tbc